Akenside Players

The Akenside Players are named after the physician and poet Mark Akenside, whose essay on The Pleasures of the Imagination, inspired by the Northumberland countryside, was influential in shaping 18th century ideas about aesthetics and the perception of beauty. The group won first prize in the Fenton House Early Music Keyboard Ensemble Competion 2012. Their concerts aim to explore lesser-known English baroque chamber music focusing on works by G.F Handel, W. Boyce, T.A. Arne, C. Avison and H Purcell.

“In a hugely enjoyable and stylish performance, the Akenside Players demonstrated not only technical assurance, but also the rarer gift of emotional intelligence: a group to listen out for.”

Catherine Bott FGSM, presenter, The Early Music Show, BBC Radio 3

Anne Marie Christensen – violin

Rebecca Eves – violin

Amélie Addison – cello

Masumi Yamamoto – harpsichord